Well, I've been at school for a few weeks now and I haven't been writing here at all. I've just been busy and haven't had much drive to write here.
But today I do. It's a Monday and I have class in an hour and a half. In half an hour I will leave the house, go to the gas station, get my coffee and crackers and head to class to sit and wait for the day to begin.
Most people hate mondays. You hear Monday and thing "blah". I was so happy for a couple of weeks because I LOVED Monday. Monday meant I got to go to school. But today, I'm not feeling that so much. Today it was hard to roll out of bed. I got up and didn't care how I looked (which, believe it or not...they notice in Cosmetology school. You're supposed to present yourself professionally. Which means, putting some effort into your appearance.) This morning, I don't even care. I've gotten dressed and at least don't look like a bum, but I just want to crawl back into bed and pretend it's Saturday again.
I don't know what happened, or why I feel this way. I guess maybe I had some expectations for school and they aren't there. Don't get me wrong, I love the work. I really do. But I supposed I had social expectations. For a while I thought that I was doing great being part of the "in" crowd. But, lately...I've realized I'm not. And that's okay. These people are just different from me. There's nothing wrong with that. I just don't "fit in" like I'd hoped I would. But again...it's okay. I'm not going to change who and what I am and I know they won't either.
I'm still not super pumped about school today. I have a test I didn't get the grade I wanted last week and plan to retake it. I don't know when.
But I do have a plan. Today, instead of trying to fit in and please people and make friends and be one of the "in crowd"...I'm just going to focus on my work. I'm going to be me, and let everyone else be them. I won't let anyone or anything change the way I am...and that means I won't let them change the way I act. I'm quirky and odd and pretty blonde sometimes. I'm not the most artistic person there, I'm not the prettiest or smartest and most popular or the loudest. I'm not the most seen, most heard, most noticed, most loved...but that's not a bad thing. Sometimes, it's best to just blend into the woodwork. I don't want to stick out in any way except that maybe I can shine God's light and see where that goes.
Even in school, that's my goal. It's my goal everywhere I go and in everything I do. I'm a Christian and I want to shine that...but I refuse to shove it down people's throat's or judge them for things I don't have the right to judge them for. I just hope that God works through me in the little ways that count the most.
It's going to be a long day...probably a long week. But you never know what God has in store and that's exciting. He could do anything this week. Best to just take in in stride. one step at a time. Focus. That's what I plan to do.
I hope everyone out there has a good Monday and stays true to themselves. To what God has made them. It's people who aren't afraid to stand up and be themselves (or maybe sit back and be themselves) who truly make the difference in the world. There's a million people trying to fit into the same mold. That's not for me. I mean really...how boring is that?
Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Day One-Complete
Well, my first day of school is over! To be honest, it was a lot more like an orientation day than an actual day of school, but I did learn some good information about what school will be like. I made a friend in my class and got all of my equipment and books! Not only that, but I have already walked the campus so much, that I know it pretty well. Well enough for now, at least.
I really like it there. I felt so energized and happy all day. The people are great. I ran into a few grouches, but that's to be expected, right? And even they weren't really grouches. Just less bouncy than everyone else.
My class teacher is simply awesome. I already like her and am so, so glad she'll be teaching. She's very approachable and kind and seems to be an understanding type, but not afraid to enforce the rules.
My lab teacher is great too. A little more rough around the edges, but in a good way. She's a German lady with the most awesome accent and great personality.
We were done really early because we didn't do any real school. Just got familiar with things.
I went down and got lunch with a classmate at the Subway in the cafeteria and then got in the six mile long line for the book store. After getting my hands on my incredibly heavy and expensive book, I got my cosmetology kit which I had to lug /all/ the way across campus to get it inspected. I'll just say I got a nice workout and leave it at that.
I love campus. I love meeting people and talking to them. I love the teachers, the library, the learning...just about everything. The only thing that I thing would improve the campus is a Krispy Kreme. Wonder if I can get a petition made up for that... .Thankfully there's ice cream nearby at a DQ down the road. X-D
My cosmetology kit is AWESOME. It comes with /everything/. and it's really quality stuff. Curling iron, electric clippers, scissors (they aren't purple, but that's okay.), straightener, rollers...and good grief so much more. Thankfully it also came with a rather large duffel bag to tote it all around in.
I can't wait to go back. I have a test on Wednesday...but it shouldn't be hard and I have tomorrow to study for it.
All in all, today was awesome. I loved every minute of it. Even getting sore arms carrying that huge box and book around.
Work tomorrow and then school again on Wednesday! I can't wait!
I really like it there. I felt so energized and happy all day. The people are great. I ran into a few grouches, but that's to be expected, right? And even they weren't really grouches. Just less bouncy than everyone else.
My class teacher is simply awesome. I already like her and am so, so glad she'll be teaching. She's very approachable and kind and seems to be an understanding type, but not afraid to enforce the rules.
My lab teacher is great too. A little more rough around the edges, but in a good way. She's a German lady with the most awesome accent and great personality.
We were done really early because we didn't do any real school. Just got familiar with things.
I went down and got lunch with a classmate at the Subway in the cafeteria and then got in the six mile long line for the book store. After getting my hands on my incredibly heavy and expensive book, I got my cosmetology kit which I had to lug /all/ the way across campus to get it inspected. I'll just say I got a nice workout and leave it at that.
I love campus. I love meeting people and talking to them. I love the teachers, the library, the learning...just about everything. The only thing that I thing would improve the campus is a Krispy Kreme. Wonder if I can get a petition made up for that... .Thankfully there's ice cream nearby at a DQ down the road. X-D
My cosmetology kit is AWESOME. It comes with /everything/. and it's really quality stuff. Curling iron, electric clippers, scissors (they aren't purple, but that's okay.), straightener, rollers...and good grief so much more. Thankfully it also came with a rather large duffel bag to tote it all around in.
I can't wait to go back. I have a test on Wednesday...but it shouldn't be hard and I have tomorrow to study for it.
All in all, today was awesome. I loved every minute of it. Even getting sore arms carrying that huge box and book around.
Work tomorrow and then school again on Wednesday! I can't wait!
![]() |
| I'm armed and ready |
![]() |
| This is where the lab class is. We each get our own station. Love it in there. |
![]() |
| And there was a nice storm that I had to wait out today. |
Day ONE
Today is my first day
of Cosmetology school. I am a little bit nervous and very excited. It’s
honestly something I never thought I would do. I got out of high school and
didn’t want to do any further education. I was happy with the way I was and
didn’t have any other dreams that involved needing any kind of after high school school.
But
that only lasted as long as it took me to snag this dream of mine. A dream in
which Cosmetology school is the first step. I’ll write up a page later and
title it “The Dream” to post at the top of this blog, but for now I’ll just say…It’s
a dream that, in theory, is pretty new. But it’s roots go back many years.
I leave
for classes in just over 30 minutes. My heart is pounding just a little. It’s
honestly hard to tell if it’s excitement, nerves or the coffee I’m guzzling. I
hope there’s a place to get coffee on campus.
I’m
thankful for all the things that have brought me to this day. My mom for
teaching me how to read and write. The things that shaped me as a child to
where now, as an adult (I still can’t get used to calling myself that, but
since I’m 20 and ½ I guess it’s time I do.) I have a passion and a desire to
help people. And yes…my dream involves helping people. My whole family for
loving me. And my boyfriend who encouraged and inspired me right up to this
point to overcome my insecurities and doubts and made me believe I /could/ do
this. (You wouldn’t believe what a big thing that is.)
I’m a
blessed girl, but I know that even blessed people have to work hard to achieve anything
truly great in life. Like I like to say and I can’t remember who first said it,
but it’s a good quote “God helps those who help themselves.” (I’m not getting into
the theology behind that quote. My point is that the concept rings true.) So, I’m
planning on working hard and never stop reaching for what I can see in front of
me.
Life
looks bright when you have something to move towards. And that’s what I have. I have two great
dreams. But more on that in the “The Dream” page later on. I want to serve God,
love other and shine. Gosh, I want to shine. There’s too much darkness in this
world and it is my belief that, not matter what you do, you can make it a
chance to shine a light in a dark world. Don’t worry, I won’t start preaching.
You’ll probably
notice that this blog is really just a chance for me to spill and ramble about
my school and how it plays into my life. It’s a journal, a scrapbook and an
outlet. I’m looking forward to documenting my journey and have something to
look back on at the end of it. And it's all going to be first drafts so go easy on me
I know
there will be ups and I know for a fact that there will be downs. But neither
of those are bad. Each of them are just a chance to grown and learn and have something
to stand on top of. I’m ready for the ups and trying to be ready for the downs.
But can you ever really be? I don’t know. I’m just praying for the grace to get
through them all. And embrace them for what they are.
I kind
of feel like Dorothy as she set off to find the Emerald City. Or Bilbo Baggins
as he charged out of the shire for the first time. Or Lucy as she stepped into
Narnia for the first time. It’s a big, scary journey. Dangers and fears and insecurities.
But at the same time, magic and wonder and beauty.
It’s a
good day for an adventure, don’t you think?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



